Buyers, Beware?

The year is 2214, and your computer’s dusty hard drive has just resurfaced at an antique store. Write a note to the curious buyer explaining what he or she will find there.

This is a note to myself in the year 2214:

My computer has taken me into the future. Dusty and dated 2014 it has the capacity to dematerialize whomever owns it, into a stream of data on its hard drive, for the owner to rematerialize at a future date.

I suppose I am not ready to let it go without me.

I have been transformed into bytes of text documents, rich text formats; and pictures: jpgs, jpegs, pngs, gifs, pdfs, docs, ppts, odts, pptxs, docxs, ppss, ppsxs, xlss, xlsxs, and keys; then mp3s, m4as, wavs, and oggs audio files; then videos; everything and anything that can be posted into this blog.

Beware: the information on my computer has disintegrated into white noise over the course of the two hundred years, leaving it’s time-space continuum empty.

But for the records of the readership of my blog, I have no account of myself.

<a href=”http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/buyers-beware/”>Buyers, Beware?</a>

Leave a Reply

