By Heart

The poems or lyrics that I can recite from memory date from school: starting with nursery rhymes like ‘Frere Jaques’, and then in secondary school ‘Our Father who art in Heaven…’ and the rest of ‘The Lord’s Prayer’.

Why is it I remember this but nothing else? Maybe it is because I haven’t grown up.

Yes I can recite phrases from pop songs: ‘I met you in the summer/To my heartbeat’s sound/We fell in love/When the leaves turned brown’, but these fade with time.

I am ashamed to not have one poem, not from Shakespeare nor Sylvia Plath, that I can recite from memory.*

It is never too late to start I suppose.

*I would like people to be able to recite my own poems; so the next time I write one I shall write it as if it were to be remembered.

<a href=”http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-heart/”>By Heart</a>

Leave a Reply

