Sweet Little Lies

As kids, we’re told, time and again, that lying is wrong. Do you believe that’s always true? In your book, are there any exceptions?

In my book if I told you ‘I have never told a lie’, that would be lying.

I remember when I used to write for a certain magazine, I was asked to review a book of my choice. I chose a book called ‘Inner Space’, and next to self-help text were pictures of various ‘yogis’. This is the sort of stuff that I run a mile from everyday, but for this magazine, I thought it suitable. Anyhow I turned in the review having barely read the book, which for me constitutes a lie, especially as I did the same later, for a second book on cooking, written by a colleague, and having skimmed and pulled out a few quotes, I turned in a review that befitted a nobel prize winner.

Dishonesty or lies, I feel ashamed to this day, to not have kept my integrity, especially as the magazine has now disbanded, and I have no further involvement.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Little Lies

Leave a Reply

