To Be Resolved

Last year on New Year’s Eve I was asleep before midnight. This year it will probably be more of the same. I won’t hear the clock chime twelve. That may be the best way for me to stay resolved.

For my resolutions I dream that I have a magic potion to solve everything, that’s all my problems, and leave me with nothing, that’s nothing to worry about.

For that to come true I know what I have to do, but ‘don’t tell me what I am doing, I don’t want to know’*.

Because you may ask me ‘How are you?’, but I do not know how I am, so I cannot answer. Or you may say ‘Come and play’, but I may not want to play.

And therefore I can leave myself on this website and erase myself from being in any of your other worlds, so that you shall not see or hear me other than the Word you read here.

And when I read your Word, I shall not hear you, for the hat I wear protects me, and I shall not see you for my eyes are tinted with red, but the Word can be read.

Now in the same way you don’t know where I am, I do not know where you are.

My resolution is that maybe one day you chance to find me, and when I have shown you where, what, how, when, why, who I am, I can choose to hear from you and see you too. And then may we be resolved to share what we have to each other, and ‘see what the passions can reveal’*.

So that at the end of next year I may say: ‘I didn’t know what I was doing, but I’m glad that it was done’*.

*from the introduction to ‘Fahrenheit 451’ by Ray Bradbury

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/to-be-resolved/”>To Be Resolved</a>

Leave a Reply

