Fireside Chat

What person whom you don’t know very well in real life — it could be a blogger whose writing you enjoy, a friend you just recently made, etc. — would you like to have over for a long chat in which they tell you their life story?

I have chosen you in the same way as you have chosen me. You, the one who follows me, wherever I may be. Together we are the ‘followers’. It doesn’t matter what time or where your presence is felt, it is the same way as I imagine I am to you.

Sometimes your company is welcome, and sometimes I may wish to be alone. But we have no choice in the matter, for the world goes on, in a chaotic manner that we may struggle together to control or at least be a part of. And though we are two, may we be mindful that in reality there are far, far, far more of us waiting to share with one another our space. And if we are lucky we may create friendships that shape our journey….

Sure I may have a sense of who you are, and sometimes an image, but because you are a sentient being I wish to know more. In the same way with each share I may reveal some bare facts and qualities that makes me me, we reveal ourselves.

So how much of you and how much of me do we really know?

Maybe the answer is in our life stories. You give me clues each time we meet, and each time I read a new chapter, I try to thread together the moments, like a poem, collected together to make up a narrative that reflects upon your experiences.

And though sometimes random, every response communicates a message. For with my story, I would be lost, were it not for you.

So we are the body of words waiting to be read. The beauty is that wherever we are, the words may pass through us or we may remember them, like a light shining, just like life itself.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fireside-chat/”>Fireside Chat</a>

3 thoughts on “Fireside Chat

Leave a Reply

