Travel Guide

I remember when I was little, on holiday in France, with my sister and my mum and dad. Dad always looking at the map, more concerned, it seemed, with getting from A to B rather than enjoy the journey. And sitting in the back of the rented car, stacked with suitcases, looking for hours for a suitable hotel, whereas if we had prebooked we could have avoided roaming around in the high temperatures with nowhere to stay and my mum fretting. Of course my sister and I arguing at the back of the car over who had the most space. Needless to say, visiting family was a major part of the summer holidays, crossing the country, for a lunch with my step-grandmother, which lasted no more than a few hours, to say bye-bye again, and travel to the next destination to see aunt and uncle. And so it went on. All fond memories I suppose.

I have been to Paris as a tourist, and New York too. Both are awesome cities. Paris is amazing to walk around, look at the shops, sit in the park, pop into a museum or two, have some good food, you just can’t beat it. And New York is wild: checking out the music scene, going to the cinema, eating in Chinatown, chilling in Brooklyn, OMG America!! I suppose both trips were a mix of planning and happenstance. Always good to look at the ‘culture guide’: ‘Time Out’ in New York, ‘Pariscope’ in Paris and take it from there.

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-happy-wanderer/”>The Happy Wanderer</a>

Leave a Reply

