Thank Dr Freud

Well, I slept on it. And what sprung to mind was something I can remember from childhood. I had a fever, it might have been from chicken pox or the measles, I don’t know. Anyhow I was delirious and I dreamt that I was lost in a maze within a fortified structure, a bit like a castle. Well the castle bit makes sense, ‘being a defence’ against the flu, but being lost in the maze I am not so sure. So I looked it up over the net. And hey presto I got my answer: being lost in a maze ‘can depict the difficulties of finding your way out of the entanglement of dependence upon your mother and cultural norms’…at that time you see I remember being looked after by my mother. Very Freudian! Not only that but the maze ‘can represent the circuitous and often confusing route you take to greater maturity’, just like having chicken pox is a rite of passage for any child. Phew, no need to pay for a psychiatrist then!

What is the best dream you’ve ever had? Recount it for us in all its ethereal glory. If no dream stands out in your memory, recount your worst nightmare. Leave no frightening detail out.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sweet-dreams-are-made-of-this/”>Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)</a>

Leave a Reply

